Register / Help



OAESA - Ohio Association of Elementary School Administrators
Ohio Association of
Elementary School
Home Programs &
Events &

OAESA  >  About OAESA  >  Recognition Programs


> Overview
> Recognition
> FAQs
> History
> Staff
> Board of Directors
> Platform
> Legislative Positions
> Committees


On This Page:
  • Hall of Fame School Recognition Program
  • Distinguished Principal Award
  • Assistant Principal Award
  • D. Richard Murray Service Award
  • Secretary of the Year Award
  • Do you know an exemplary individual or school who should be rewarded?

    Please read about OAESA's award programs by clicking on each program in the box to the right or by scrolling down the page. If you would like to send us a nomination, click on the PDFs to the brochures below. Inside each are details about nomination requirements, deadlines, and additional information about the programs.

    Click here to download the 2015 Nomination Form

    Hall of Fame School Application Process Webinar
    Need more information on nominating and applying to be a Hall of Fame school? Click below for a recording of a webinar featuring Hall of Fame school winners, and hear first-hand what the process is like and what made them stand out from the pack: 
    Hall of Fame Webinar 11-19-2014

    OAESA Hall of Fame School Recognition Program
    Exemplary educational programs that go above and beyond meeting the needs of students in elementary and middle level schools across the state are recognized annually through the OAESA Hall of Fame School Recognition Program. This award has been distributed since 1984.

    Congratulations, 2014 Hall of Fame School Winners:

    Pickerington Elementary, Pickerington Local Schools
    Timberlane Learning Center, Northridge Local Schools
    Crestwood Elementary, Swanton Local Schools
    Madison Avenue Elementary, Riverside Local Schools
    Granby Elementary, Worthington City Schools
    Toll Gate Middle School, Pickerington Local Schools

    OAESA Distinguished Principal Award

    Honorees are selected by their colleagues for achievements above and beyond those expected in the usual school program. The criterion for the selection of the OAESA Distinguished Principal has been set by OAESA, NAESP, and the United States Department of Education. OAESA has been recognizing Ohio's outstanding administrators since 1984.

    Congratulations 2014 Distinguished Principal Award Winner, Dr. Rachel L. Jones, principal of Gurney Elementary in Chagrin Falls Exempted Village Schools. Rachel will represent Ohio in October as the 2014 recipient of the prestigious National Distinguished Principal (NDP) Award from the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP). Dr. Jones has brought innovative programs to Gurney that help students achieve as learners but also succeed as citizens. She has crafted a building and community culture known as the "Gurney Experience." She makes everyone feel important, valued, and that their opinions and ideas count.

    OAESA Outstanding Assistant Principal Award

    Congratulations 2014 Outstanding Assistant Principal Award Winner, David R. Winebrenner, from Kings Junior High School in the Kings Local School District.

    Dave exemplifies service leadership. He is always looking for ways to make students successful and supporting teachers professionally to make it happen in the classroom. He is committed to the community through many avenues of volunteering and supporting students as they participate in community activities. When asked for a statement of legacy he shared the Robert Louis Stevenson quote, "Judge each day, not by the harvest you reap but by the seeds you plant." 

    Congratulations 2014 Secretary of the Year, Connie Lauth from St. Marys Intermediate School in the St. Marys City School District

    Connie Lauth is the Secretary of St. Marys Intermediate School in the St. Marys City School District. Connie Lauth was nominated for the OAESA Secretary of the Year Award because of her unique capability to perform any task, her competence in her job, and her warm personality—all of which make her an outstanding secretary.

    She is a dedicated employee, willing to go above and beyond on a daily basis for students and their families. No one ever leaves the office area without a smile on his/her face because of Connie’s sense of humor. Ask her about this year’s April Fool’s prank!

    OAESA D. Richard Murray Service Award
    To recognize D. Richard Murray, Emeritus OAESA Executive Director, the OAESA Board of Directors has annually presented an award to an individual who has provided outstanding service to benefit administrators and the children they serve during the most recent year.

    Congratulations 2014 D. Richard Murray Service Award Winner: Kevin R. Conners

    Kevin Conners, attorney at law, was selected as this year's honoree based on his level of service and commitment to OAESA. Since 2008, Kevin has offered unmatched support for our organization, working tirelessly on OAESA's behalf, making himself available at all hours of the day, even after hours and weekends. Over the years, he has provided exceptional representation and counseled the OAESA Board of Directors and Dr. Davis in areas of compliance, regulatory, fiscal, and legal matters. In addition, he has always adhered to the highest standards of professionalism, ethical conduct, and integrity.


    445 Hutchinson Ave., Suite 700, Columbus, Ohio  43235
    Telephone:  (614) 547-8087 / (888) OH-OAESA  |  Fax:  (614) 547-8089  |  E-mail:

    ©2015 OAESA  |  Administration